Fuck You Disney

Like most women my age, I grew up with the classic Disney love stories; Beauty and The Beast, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and The Little Mermaid.

What little girl didn’t want to be a mermaid??

Of course, all these movies have a recurring theme where girl meets boy, girl has to overcome some adversity (which boy usually rescues her from), and then boy and girl live happily ever after.

This is exactly why they’re called fairy tales.

No one ever said life was easy, but some days manage to beat you down despite your best efforts at a positive outlook.

I recently started dating someone, we’ll call him Mr. Fix It (he owns his own construction company).

While things are going well, there are days (usually the ones that leave me overworked and sleep deprived) when I wonder, “Is this it?”

Disney never showed me what the day-to-day minutia looks like.

Didn’t Ariel begin to resent Eric and hold it over his head, “I gave up my life under the sea for you asshole!”?

And you can’t tell me Belle didn’t get seriously annoyed cleaning the shower after Beast (all that hair!).

Be my guest alright – to clean your own damn shower!

How do you shelve your tired, cranky, long-ass day and transition to happy, fun date night?

Yes, I know you should be honest and share your day/feelings with your partner but no one (including me) wants to hear how tired you are all the time. Take a fucking nap already!

How do you transition from work to romance?

Leave a comment

Filed under dating, following your dreams, growing up, looking for love, work

Leave a Reply

