Pull yourself together girl!

Shit happens.

Feelings get hurt in both our personal and professional lives.

Constructive criticisms can cut deep, but as far as I’m concerned, lock it down and take it to the bathroom.

It is tough enough to be a successful woman without being labeled an “emotional” woman.

I can’t lie, I’ve cried at work.

Once was even while sitting in my boss’s office.

In my defense, I was informing him I was taking a leave of absence due to my father’s recent cancer diagnosis.

In his defense, he was the perfect boss and gentlemen, quietly handing me tissues and allowing me to get through that difficult announcement uninterrupted.

It may have helped that he managed a team of all women, was married, and had two daughters at home.

That man definitely spoke hysterical female.

(Btw Dad made a full recovery and is totally fine with the exception of a recent diagnosis of dumbass-itis for starting smoking again.)

The only other time I fell apart in the office, I was lucky enough to work with a good friend, who immediately pulled me into the ladies room and told me to get it together. (Thanks, Amina!)

Me and my super awesome girl Amina 🙂

There have certainly been other times when I felt the pin prick of emotions behind my eyelids while on the job, but I’ve always managed to bully myself back from the edge.

Sheryl Sandberg, Facebook COO, admits to crying at work and is an advocate for being your “real self” in the office.

It’s easy to be your “real” self when you’re at the C-level

I completely agree with being your true self at work (pretending to be someone you’re not will just lead to stress and misery).

But as young women can we really be taken seriously if we respond to work challenges with water works?

It’s one thing to share your emotions at work as a seasoned and established contributor but what about when you’re first starting out?

Have you ever cried at work?

Was it in front of a superior?

How did you handle it?

2 Comments

Filed under career, etiquette, following your dreams, growing up, work

2 responses to “Pull yourself together girl!

  1. You bring up a great point! Water works is not the best way to present yourself at work…but I certainly think letting it happen once in a while is ok…we do have to remember we are human 🙂

    http://www.woman4president.org

  2. Nobody’s perfect, right?! Thanks for the comment 🙂 Hope you enjoy the blog!

Leave a Reply

