Don’t Touch Me!

My mother’s the first person to tell you I like my personal space.

(In my defense, even for a Mom she pushes the touchy feely boundaries.)

That being said, I’m not adverse to ALL touching.

Get your mind out of the gutter!! I wasn’t talking about THAT kind of touching!

When saying good-bye to friends and family or greeting a loved one I haven’t seen in awhile, I’m an excellent and enthusiastic hugger.

Personal boundaries can get a little cloudy in the professional arena though.

As a woman it feels a little awkward to shake hands with a female colleague.

Since this is a re-building year for my career, I’ve been doing a lot of networking and volunteering for various professional organizations.

You have a great experience, share some stories, bond over a glass of wine (or two), and then comes the awkward good-bye.

If it were a friend the hug good-bye would be a given.

Between two male colleagues the handshake is automatic.

But how do you know when to hug?

It’s like the professional version of a first kiss. One person leans in, the other one leans back, and now it’s weird.

How do you suss out a hugger?

Ladies do you hug professionally?

What about you guys, do you ever hug a colleague?

In today’s litigation happy society is a friendly and innocent hug sexual harassment?

Leave a comment

Filed under career, etiquette, family, growing up, work

Leave a Reply

