Baby Makin’ Time?

These days it seems like everyone around me is catching the itis.

The baby-itis that is.

Don’t worry! I’m not in any danger.

I have the vaccine, it’s called the Nuva Ring 🙂

Don’t get me wrong!

I love kids!

who wouldn’t love this lil nugget??

They’re awesome little people.

Unless their parents are complete assholes, they’re usually innocent, full of wonder, playful, funny, clever, and uncomfortably honest.

If it weren’t for the incessant questions and the inability to understand sarcasm, they’d be my favorite people.

I especially love kids I get to give back!

It’s not that I never want kids of my own. (Calm down Mom!)

It’s that I want to raise my children.

I want to be there every day for every repetitive question, shame-inducing meltdown, and skinned knee.

who wouldn’t want to take this hot mess out in public??

I was privileged enough to have a Mom who was able to be home while I was growing up and I want my kids to enjoy that same privilege.

I just don’t have it in me to pop out a baby and drop them off at daycare two weeks later.

I applaud women who can do that. Most women don’t have the luxury to be a stay-at-home-mom, especially in this economy.

working mom = wonder woman

I’m just too selfish to do it myself.

And I’m not a 30 year old intern working two jobs because I like to stay busy.

I’m working way too hard pursuing my career right now to take a baby time-out.

But I do worry that by the time I’m ready for kids the window of opportunity to bear my own children will have passed and I’ll forever be the super cool aunt who has disposable income and free time for days.

Where do you stand on kids?

Love ’em?

Hate ’em?

Love the ones that aren’t yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under career, family, following your dreams, growing up, work

Leave a Reply

