Do the Hustle

There was a time, in a land far, far away, where the economy was booming and jobs opportunities were plentiful.

far far away

I worked a full-time job that paid me (in hindsight) ridiculously well, provided all sorts of perks, all while reporting to a boss who was genuinely concerned with my career development.

Fast forward four years.

The economy is in the shitter.

Average Americans work two or three jobs just to eat and keep a roof over their heads, and most days I feel like a bartender who just gets dressed up during the day to go play “office”.

little girl playing dress up

It’s sad that I dream of another part-time marketing/PR gig so I can feel like a “grown-up” working a “real” job.

It’s even sadder that I will never be able to replicate the income I make slinging drinks with said “real” job.

The irony is I finally figured out what I wanted to be when I “grew up” just in time for the entire economy and workforce landscape to change.

When I had the support, encouragement, and means to explore what made me happy, I squandered my opportunities.

There are days when I feel like a failure.

failure 2

At 30 it’s extremely discouraging to be starting from the bottom all over again.

But then I look at the open job postings in my field and realize, it’s not me.

If there were a full-time opportunity out there, I would rock it like Jimi Hendrix shredding the Star Spangled Banner.

jimi hendrix

But those positions are few and far between these days.

Most companies can’t afford full-time, in-house marketing. They either outsource to an agency or hire someone part-time.

Think about it, as a full-time employee your cost to an organization goes well beyond your paycheck.

paycheck 2

When I was living the life in Corporate America, I was a twenty-something earning an upper-middle class salary, I had health insurance, an employer matched retirement plan, and tuition reimbursement.

That’s a hell of a lot of perks. Really expensive perks.

The hustle doesn’t have many perks. My paycheck is what it is and three nights a week I put up with obnoxious drunks while trying to keep a smile on my face.

drunk dude

(Btw if your bartender is not smiling please, please, please do NOT tell her too. In any way, shape, or form. It is super irritating and not at all helpful.)

However, there might be some big moves in the works.

Stay tuned and keep your fingers crossed for me 🙂

better things are coming

1 Comment

Filed under Climbing the Ladder, Dollars + Sense, Following Your Dreams

One response to “Do the Hustle

  1. Pingback: Untie Me | Adventures In Adulthood

Leave a Reply

