I Got It From My Momma

In honor of my mother’s upcoming birthday, (June 24th for those of you who know her and want to wish her well) I put together a list of things she taught me over the years. Obviously it’s not an exhaustive list – that would be impossible.

Some of the lessons were appreciated at the time.

Some I didn’t fully understand until years later.

But they all remind me how lucky I am to have such an amazing Mom.

Me and my Momma

Me and my Momma

THINGS I GOT FROM MY MOMMA:

(besides some pretty amazing bone structure)

  1. Never show up to a gathering empty handed and always ask the host/hostess if you can help upon arrival.
  2. Dance whenever possible. (Some of my fondest memories are family dance parties in the living room.)

    dance party with mom

    Madonna dance parties are the best dance parties 🙂

  3. Pay off your credit cards EVERY MONTH and always have a little mad money set aside.
  4. Reading is AWESOME and will take you places you never dreamed of.
  5. Homemade food tastes the best. Extra points for growing your own.
  6. You can learn how to do anything you set your mind to. It won’t always be easy but it IS possible.

    Channeling her inner Amelia Earhart.

    Channeling her inner Amelia Earhart. That’s right my bad-ass Momma flew that plane!

  7. Your skin is your largest organ. Wash your face EVERY night, moisturize, and always use sunscreen.
  8. Ain’t isn’t a word. Use proper grammar.
  9. If you can’t carry it – don’t pack it. Chivalry is kinda, sorta dead. Be prepared to carry your own luggage ladies.
  10. Go outside. Better yet – go camping.
  11. Mind your manners. They’re called “magic words” for a reason.
  12. Barefaced is beautiful. Growing up I rarely saw my Mom wear much make-up and I wasn’t allowed to paint my face until high school. (It’s easy if you have great skin – see #7)

    Making it look easy somewhere in Korea.

    Making it look easy somewhere in Korea.

  13. You can’t say you don’t like something if you’ve never tried it. Try everything at least once. Twice to make sure.
  14. Tequila is the nectar of the Gods. But don’t be a dumbass – call a cab or have a designated driver.
  15. Stick up for yourself. No one if going to fight your battles for you.

Bonus:

Driving fast is a necessity in life when you’re ALWAYS 10 minutes late for EVERYTHING. It’s also a helluva lot of fun 🙂

Happy Birthday Mom!! ILY

Happy Birthday Mom!! ILY

1 Comment

Filed under beauty, entertaining, etiquette, family, growing up, money, music

One response to “I Got It From My Momma

  1. Pingback: It Only Hurts If You Let It | Adventures In Adulthood

Leave a Reply

