Good Enough

As much as I am head over heels in love with my new job, it takes up far more of my time than anticipated.

Lately, I feel as though I’ve been phoning in certain areas of my life in order to accommodate all that I would like to accomplish.

Sadly, one of the victims of my time crunch is Adventures in Adulthood.

Instead of having the time to fully form my thoughts and craft witty, clever posts, I’ve been slacking – just a bit.

slacking off

It doesn’t help that it’s summertime and there are a thousand things I would rather do on a sunny afternoon than sit inside banging away on my laptop.

When I was bartending I could work on the blog during slow weeknights.

Which gave me time to revise and edit until I found the perfect wording for what I was trying to say.

Now 300 or so coherent words on a relevant topic and that’s good enough.

At first I was disappointed in myself for not having prepared better.

feels bad man

But the accelerated pace at which I must now write and post has actually helped.

Being a Type A Perfectionist, I have never enjoyed the quote:

voltaire quote

But, it has become quite accurate for my circumstances.

I’ve come to the understanding that if I want to continue with my blogging adventure (and I very much do) I will need to do more with less.

It has made me far more focused, as I don’t have the time to just write and see where it takes me.

Which has made me think about the other aspects of my life that could benefit from a little less over-thinking.

overthinking

Yes, I know thinking about over-thinking is over-thinking.

It’s my Achilles heel 😦

I blame the Girl Scouts for teaching us to always be prepared.

But, I’m working on it.

And that will just have to be good enough.

1 Comment

Filed under Change, Climbing the Ladder, following your dreams, growing up

One response to “Good Enough

  1. Pingback: Seeing in Binary, Creation as Purpose, and Denying the Beasts | The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King

Leave a Reply

