May the Force be with You

I don’t like hearing “no”.

I know, I know, who does?!?

It’s not that I’ve never been told I couldn’t have what I want.

Trust me, that happens far more frequently than you’d think.

But, I was raised to believe, if you want something bad enough, you work your ass off to make it happen, and you don’t stop until you reach your goal.

good things

The trouble with that mindset is it doesn’t always work so well with people.

Most people, once they have their mind made up, are very hard to budge.

I’m not a closer.

I’d be terrible at sales.

I hear “no” and get so frustrated I don’t have another course of action.

I can’t see any solution to change that “no” to a “yes”.

Cajoling and pleading only work sometimes.

pretty please

And a pretty smile might open a few doors, but that’s about it.

I feel powerless when someone shuts me down.

Like I lost my ability to influence my world.

Like my choices are taken away.

It makes me wish for magical powers.

If only I could harness The Force!

use the force

I wouldn’t abuse my power.

The Jedi Mind Trick would only be employed during desperate situations.

Tragic stalemates where neither party can find a way out of the corners they’ve backed themselves into.

Maybe once or twice to see future lottery numbers or to mess with unassuming bystanders.

lotto ticket

How funny would it be to make someone’s table levitate and turn circles mid-meal at a restaurant??

That’s just good, clean fun!

Have you ever really changed someone’s mind?

Or did you just wear them down to the point where they’d agree to anything just to get you to shut up?

Do you think it’s even possible to change someone’s mind??

What magical power do you wish you had?!

Leave a comment

Filed under Climbing the Ladder, Family + Friends, Following Your Dreams, Love + Sex

Leave a Reply

